This site is optimised for modern browsers. For the best experience, please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.


This is a new site which is still under development. We welcome your feedback, which will help improve it.

Feedback form

CRN East Midlands Specialty Leads



CRN East Midlands Specialty Leads

This document will give you information about the CRN East Midlands Specialty Leads, and how to get in touch with them.

Division 1 - Cancer

Professor David Rowbotham,Clinical Lead (Interim) -
Ms Hannah Finch, Research Delivery Manager -
Penny Millward, Research Operations Manager -
Professor Stuart Smith, Sub-Specialty Lead - Brain Cancer -
Mr Amit Goyal, Sub-Specialty Lead - Breast Cancer -
Mr Baljit Singh, Sub-Specialty Lead - Colorectal Cancer -
Dr Roshan Agarwal, Sub-Specialty Lead - Gynaecological Cancer -
Dr Mamta Garg, Sub-Specialty Lead - Haematological Cancer -
Mr Christopher Avery, Sub-Specialty Lead - Head and Neck Cancer -
Dr Rajini Sudhir, Sub-Specialty Lead - Lung Cancer -
Dr John McKenna, Sub-Specialty Lead - Melanoma/Skin Cancer -
Dr Madhumita Dandapani, Sub-Specialty Lead - Paediatric Cancer -
Dr Andrew Wilcock,  Sub-Specialty Lead - Palliative Care -
Professor Christina Faull, Sub-Specialty Lead - Palliative Care -
Dr Ivo Hennig, Sub-Specialty Lead - Sarcoma/TYA -
Professor David Bowrey, Sub-Specialty Lead - Upper GI Cancer -
Dr Santhanam Sundar, Sub-Specialty Lead - Urological Cancer -

Division 2 - Diabetes, Stroke, Cardiovascular Disease, Metabolic and Endocrine Disorders, Renal

Professor Jonathan Barratt, Clinical Lead -
Mrs Harpal Ghattoraya, Research Delivery Manager -
Mrs Harriet Savage,  Research Operations Manager -
Professor Gerry McCann, Specialty Lead - Cardiovascular -
Professor Melanie Davies Specialty Lead - Diabetes -
Dr Narendra Reddy, Specialty Lead - Metabolic and Endocrine -
Professor Jonathan Barratt (Interim), Specialty Lead - Renal -
Dr Tim England, Specialty Lead - Stroke -

Division 3 - Children, Genetics, Haematology, Reproductive Health and Childbirth

Dr  Julian Barwell, Clinical Lead -
Ms Hannah Finch, Research Delivery Manager -
Ms Penny Millward, Research Operations Manager -
Dr Elaine Boyle, Specialty Lead - Children (South) -
Shalini Ojha, Specialty Lead - Children (North) -
Dr Abhijit Dixit, Specialty Lead - Genetics -
Dr Hafiz Qureshi, Specialty Lead - Haematology -
Dr Nia Jones, Specialty Lead - Reproductive Health and Childbirth -

Division 4 - Dementia and Neurodegeneration, Neurological Disorders, Mental Health

Professor Martin Orrell, Clinical Lead -
Mrs Karen Pearson, Research Delivery Manager -
Miss Kate Gilmour, Research Operations Manager -
Professor Tom Dening, Specialty Lead - Dementia and Neurodegeneration -
Dr Sudheer Lankappa, Specialty Lead - Mental Health -
Professor Cris Constantinescu, Specialty Lead - Neurological Disorders -
Dr Gill Sare, Sub-Specialty Lead - Huntingdon's Disease -
Dr Jonathan Evans, Sub-Specialty Lead - Parkinson's Disease -
Dr Sumeet Singhal, Sub-Specialty Lead - Epilepsy -

Division 5 - Aging, Muscoskeletal Disorders, Dermatology, Health Services Research, Primary Care (including Oral and Dentistry) and Public Health

Professor Azhar Farooqi, Clinical Lead -
Mrs  Harpal Ghattoraya, Research Delivery Manager -
Mrs Harriet Savage, Research Operations Manager -
Dr Jaspal Taggar, Oral and Dental (South) -
Professor Adam Gordon, Specialty Lead - Ageing North -
Dr Victoria Haunton, Specialty Lead - Ageing South -
Dr Neena Lakhani, Specialty Lead - Community Pharmacy -
Dr Rosalind Simpson, Specialty Lead - Dermatology North -
Dr Graham Johnston, Specialty Lead - Dermatology South -
Professor Mo Ray, Specialty Lead - Health Services Research Delivery -
Dr Kenny Sunmboye Specialty Lead, - Musculoskeletal disorders -
Dr Simon Royal, Specialty Lead - Primary Care North -
Dr Jaspal Taggar, Specialty Lead - Primary Care South -
Professor Derek Ward, Specialty Lead - Public Health -

Division 6 - Anaesthesia, Peri-op/Pain, Critical Care, Injuries and Emergencies, Surgery, Ear Nose and Throat, Infectious Diseases and Microbiology, Opthalmology, Respiratory, Gastroenterology and Hepatology

Dr John deCaestecker, Clinical Lead -
Mrs Karen Pearson, Research Delivery Manager -
Miss Kate Gilmour, Research Operations Manager -
Dr Karim Shoukrey, Specialty Lead - Anaesthesia / Peri-Op and Pain Management -
Dr Dan Harvey, Specialty Lead - Critical Care -
Neeraj Sethi, Specialty Lead - Ear, Nose and Throat -
Helen Henshaw, Specialty Lead - Ear, Nose and Throat -
Dr Ajay Verma, Specialty Lead - Gastroenterology -
Dr Andrew Austin, Specialty Lead - Hepatology -
Dr Manish Pareek, Specialty Lead - Infectious Diseases and Microbiology -
Professor Frank Coffey, Specialty Lead - Injuries and Emergencies,
Mr Anthony King, Specialty Lead - Ophthalmology -
Professor Chris Brightling, Specialty Lead - Respiratory -
Professor Dileep Lobo, Specialty Lead - Surgery -
Mr  Amit Goyal, Sub-specialty Lead - Surgery (Breast) -
Mr Baljit Singh, Sub-specialty Lead - Surgery (Colorectal) -
Dr Miles Levy, Sub-specialty Lead - Surgery (Endocrine) -
Mr Christopher Avery, Sub-specialty Lead - Surgery (Head and Neck) -
Vacant, Sub-specialty Lead - Surgery (Hepatobiliary / Upper GI) Vacant
Mr Surajit Basu, Sub-specialty Lead - Surgery (Neurosurgery) -
Mr Chris Bainbridge, Sub-specialty Lead - Surgery (Plastics and Hand) -
Mr Alun Williams, Sub-specialty Lead - Surgery (Transplant) -
Miss Alison Armstrong, Sub-specialty Lead - Surgery (Trauma and Orthopaedics) -