This site is optimised for modern browsers. For the best experience, please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Nominations open for North Thames Research Awards

Nominations are now open for the CRN North Thames Research Awards 2023. 

The awards have been designed to recognise and celebrate some of the incredible research delivery achievements made in North Thames.

Nominations are open from Friday 15 December until midnight, on Wednesday 31 January 2024, with the Awards presented at a London ceremony in March 2024. 

There are 18 different categories to acknowledge achievements by both individuals and teams in every aspects of research.  Categories are open to all NIHR funded staff, including trust employees, Primary Care, AHPs, pharmacists, hospices, schools and those who work within the CRN North Thames organisation itself.  

Members of the local research community are invited to nominate individuals or teams they believe deserve recognition.

How to nominate

You can nominate a team or individual by downloading the online Word document nomination form and emailing it to

Entries must be submitted by midnight on Wednesday 31 January 2024. Finalists will be invited to our London ceremony, to be held in March 2024.

The precise date and location of the awards ceremony will be revealed in January so watch out for further announcements.  

Award categories

The 18 categories are listed below. Please refer to the full category descriptions and criteria before submitting a nomination.

Individual awards (cannot self nominate)

  • Research Nurse of the Year
  • Research Midwife of the Year
  • Principal Investigator (PI) of the year
  • Allied Health Professional (AHP) of the year
  • Data Manager of the Year
  • Clinical Research Practitioner (CRP) of the Year
  • NIHR Associate PI of the year
  • Chief Investigator of the year
  • Lifetime Achievement Award

Team awards

  • R&D Office of the Year
  • Outstanding Achievement by a Team 
  • Exceptional Performance in Commercial Research Delivery
  • Primary Care Award

Other awards

  • Community Award for engagement
  • Digital Innovation Award
  • Mental Health sector outstanding achievement
  • Innovation in reducing Health Inequalities Award
  • Excellence in PPIE 

What the judges are looking for

Innovation - Details of innovative solutions or strategies that have been employed by the nominee to achieve success.

Impact - Details of how of the nominee has impacted research delivery, either directly or indirectly.

Reach - Details of dissemination of success in terms of how the work has been or could be replicated elsewhere.

Engagement - Evidence of engagement, collaboration or cross boundary working to achieve results.

Ambition - The challenge or context in which the nominee achieved success.

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) - Details of how the nominee has embedded EDI in their work.


The awards are open to all individuals or teams who deliver, or enable the delivery of, NIHR CRN Portfolio studies. With the exception of the Lifetime Award, achievements and successes referenced must have been made during the past 5 years.

More information

If you would like a nomination form emailed to you, or have any further questions or comments, please contact our NT Business Manager, Anthony Loizou

The precise date and location of the awards ceremony will be revealed in January 2024.