This site is optimised for modern browsers. For the best experience, please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

CRN Yorkshire and Humber Research Awards Shortlist

We are excited to announce the shortlisting for this year’s CRN Yorkshire & Humber Research Awards.

The last year in research has sprung up many challenges and obstacles, however the constant dedication and perseverance in our network has seen plenty excel and exceed in their line of work.

This award ceremony is a chance for us to celebrate and thank those in research who have displayed their talent and gone that extra mile.


Investigator of the Year:

Dr Purav Desai

Dr James Turvill

Professor Shaji Sebastian


Early Career Researcher of the Year (individual):

Catherine Homer

Hannah Armitt

Dr Jonathan Smith


Best Public Engagement Contribution:

Humber Teaching R&D Team

Muniba Aslam

COVID & Me - Vaccines Community & Public Engagement Collaboration


Outstanding Contribution to Research:

Northern Lincolnshire & Goole Research Team

Dr Dave Yates

Professor Chris Twelves


Research Team of the Year:

York & Scarborough Research Team

NLaG Research Team

The Grounded Research Team in RDaSH


Research Practitioner of the Year:

Claire Brookes

Dr Sara Humphrey

Dr Francesco Palumbo


Best Patient Experience:

Emma Anderson and Lisa Airey

Academic Diabetes, Endocrinology and Metabolism Team


Research Nurse/Midwife of the Year:

Alison Talbot

Karen Regan

Sarah Buckley


Best Contribution in non-NHS setting:

Clive Nicholson


Wakefield Research Hub


Contribution to COVID-19 Research:

LTHT COVID-19 Research Team and Vaccine Research Team

Wakefield Together Research Planning

HUTH COVID-19 Vaccine Research Team

Bradford Teaching Hospitals Clinical Research Teams

Dr Thomas Darton & Dr Ruth Payne


We look forward to meeting all of these candidates as well as many others at the event on May 17th.