This site is optimised for modern browsers. For the best experience, please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Wessex teams awarded for outstanding contributions to COVID-19 research

Research teams across the Wessex region have been recognised for their research efforts during the pandemic, at a virtual ceremony hosted by the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) Clinical Research Network (CRN) Wessex on 13 May 2021.

27 individuals and teams picked up awards for Outstanding Contribution to COVID-19 Research, acknowledging the region’s contribution to the delivery of nationally prioritised urgent public health (UPH) studies.

The award ceremony, which was originally due to be held at St Mary’s Stadium in Southampton in November 2020, took place via Zoom, with over 100 virtual attendees. A full list of winners is included below.

2021 CRN Wessex Award winners

Dorset County Hospital NHS Foundation Trust (DCHFT)

Individual award- Sarah Williams, Lead Research Nurse

Team award- The DCHFT RECOVERY trial team

Dorset Healthcare University NHS Foundation Trust (DHUFT)

Individual award- Deanna Rex, Research Practitioner

Team award- DHUFT SIREN team

Hampshire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (HHFT)

Individual award- Emily Bevan, Research Practitioner

Team award- HHFT SIREN team

Isle of Wight NHS Trust

Individual award- Sarah Hinch, Research Officer 

Team award- Dr Ali Naqvi, Acute Physician and Endocrinologist and his junior doctors 

Portsmouth Hospitals University NHS Trust (PHU)

Individual award- Catherine Edwards, Specialist Research Nurse

Team award- PHU Research Pharmacy Team

Primary care

Individual award- Jayne Longstaff, ‎Respiratory Quality Improvement Nurse Lead

Team Award- The Adam Practice

Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust 

Individual award– Dr Manas Sinha, Cardiology Consultant

Team award- Radnor (ITU)

Solent NHS Trust

Individual award- Jo Turpitt, Senior Research Nurse

Team award- Solent SIREN study team

South Central Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust (SCAS)

Individual award- Professor Charles Deakin, Regional Medical Director (South)

Team award- SCAS Research Team

Southern Health NHS Foundation Trust (SHFT)

Individual Award- Charity Chakanetsa, Senior Research Nurse

Team Award- SHFT Research Team

University Hospitals Dorset NHS Foundation Trust (Poole)

Individual and team award- Beverley Wadams and the Poole Research Team

University Hospitals Dorset NHS Foundation Trust (Bournemouth)

Individual award- Becca Miln, Acting Senior Research Nurse, Urgent Public Health and ED Research

Team award- Royal Bournemouth Hospital RECOVERY team

University Hospital Southampton NHS Foundation Trust (UHS)

Individual and team award- UHS Research Team

CRN Wessex 

Individual award- Kelly Adams, Workforce Development Lead

Individual award- Kim Appleby, Communications and Engagement Manager