This site is optimised for modern browsers. For the best experience, please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Meet your new Clinical Research Specialty Leads

WE recently appointed new Clinical Research Specialty Leads (CRSLs) for each of the 30 specialty areas. Some have remained in post, some are completely new to the role.

The CRSL role involves working with the Clinical Divisional Lead and the senior operational management team.

We look forward to working together and delivering quality research in the region.

See our CRSLs below:

Ageing - Dr Emily Henderson
Anaesthesia, perioperative medicine and pain management - Dr Christopher Newell
Cancer - Professor Hugh Barr
Cardiovascular Disease - Dr Paul Foley
Children - Professor Adam Finn
Critical Care - Dr Matthew Thomas
Dementias and neurodegeneration - Professor Roy Jones and Dr Liz Coulthard
Diabetes - Sharon Tovey
Ear, Nose and Throat - Dr Amanda Hall
Gastroenterology - Dr Andrew Claridge
Genetics - Dr Alan Donaldson
Haematology - Professor Andrew Mumford
Health Services and Delivery Research - Professor Yoav Ben-Shlomo
Hepatology - Dr Coral Hollywood
Infectious Diseases and Microbiology - Dr Peter Muir
Injuries/Emergencies - Dr Michael Whitehouse
Mental Health - Dr Jonathan Evans
Neurological Disorders - Professor Neil Scolding
Musculoskeletal Disorders - Mr Nick Howells
Ophthalmology - Dr Tomas Burke
Oral and Dental Health - Dr Zoe Brookes and Dr Mona Nasser
Primary Care - Dr Tony Crockett
Public Health - Dr Michael Dalili
Renal Disorders - Dr Albert Power
Reproductive Health and Childbirth - Sara Burnard and Dr Christy Burden
Respiratory Disorders - Dr Nick Maskell
Stroke - Dr Philip Clatworthy
Surgery - Kathryn McCarthy

For more information, please contact us at or call us on 0117 342 1375.