This site is optimised for modern browsers. For the best experience, please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Greenshoots Research Delivery Awards 2022/23

greenshoots

Guidance for Applicants - Closing Date Friday 22nd October

Background

NIHR Clinical Research Network North East and North Cumbria (CRN NENC) Greenshoots Scheme is now open to applicants for 2022/23!

Greenshoot applicants make a significant contribution to the conduct and delivery of a study by taking on the role of Principal Investigator (PI), with support from regional research infrastructure. 

More information on the Greenshoots scheme. 

Application Criteria

  • The scheme is available to eligible staff who have not previously been a PI on an NIHR Portfolio study, or who have only been a PI for an NIHR Portfolio study since April 2019.
  • The scheme is also open to applicants who have been a PI on a study undertaken as part of the research element of a higher degree. 
  • Applicants must seek approval from their Clinical Director/line manager, local Specialty Lead and Research Delivery Manager before making an application (see the appendix for contacts).
  • Applicants must have a suitable mentor.  This can be anyone with experience of NIHR portfolio research who has agreed to share their experience and support your development. The NENC Mentor Directory may be a useful resource for applicants looking for a suitable mentor. 

Interested?

Please apply using the online application form.  Applications will close on Friday 22 October and applicants will be notified of the outcome in December.

If you have any questions about your Greenshoots application, please contact NENCLearning@nihr.ac.uk.

Contact details for local Specialty Leads and Research Delivery Managers can be found below.

Specialty Leads and Research Delivery Managers

Specialty

Specialty Lead

Research Delivery Manager

Ageing

Claire McDonald

claire.mcdonald2@nhs.net 

Gillian Johnson

gillian.johnson@nihr.ac.uk 

Dermatology

Dr Shymal Wahie

shyamal.wahie@nhs.net 

Gastroenterology

Dr Simon Panter

simon.panter@nhs.net 

Infection & Microbiology

Dr Ashley Price

david.price15@nhs.net 

Liver (Heptalogy)

Dr Steven Masson

steven.masson@nhs.net 

Neurological Disorders

Dr James Miller

james.miller18@nhs.net 

Respiratory Disorders

Dr John Steer

John.steer@northumbria-healthcare.nhs.uk 

Primary Care

Dr Justine Norman

justine.norman@nhs.net 

Hilary Allan

hilary.allan@nihr.ac.uk 

Health Services Research

Dr Yitka Graham

yitka.graham@sunderland.ac.uk 

Justine Smith

justine.smith@nihr.ac.uk 

Diabetes

Dr Patrick Holmes

patrickholmes@nhs.net 

Nicky Cunningham

nicky.cunningham@nihr.ac.uk 

Metabolic and Endocrine Disorders

Dr Salman Razvi

salman.razvi@newcastle.ac.uk 

Oral and Dental Health

Dr Chris Vernazza

chris.vernazza@nhs.net 

Stroke

Dr Anand Dixit

anand.dixit@nhs.net 

Cancer

Dr Kathryn Wright

kathryn.wright8@nhs.net 

Penny Williams

penny.williams@nihr.ac.uk 

Haematology

Dr Mari Kilner

mari.kilner@nhct.nhs.uk 

Cardiovascular Disease

Prof. Kim Spyridopoulos

ioakim.spyridopoulos@newcastle.ac.uk 

Sharon Dorgan

sharon.dorgan@nihr.ac.uk 

Dr David Austin

david.austin@nhs.net 

Kidney Disorders (Renal Disorders)

Dr Edwin Wong

Edwin.Wong1@nhs.net 

Dr Chris Harding

c.harding@nhs.net 

Public Health and Prevention

Sarah Sowdon

sarah.sowden@newcastle.ac.uk 

Social Care

Ruth McGovern

r.mcgovern@newcastle.ac.uk 

Children and Young People

Dr Arshid Murad

arshid.murad@nhs.net 

Steve Pratt

steven.pratt@nihr.ac.uk 

Dementias and Neurodegeneration (DeNDRon)

Dr Bob Barber

robert.barber@cntw.nhs.uk 

Genomics and Rare Diseases (Genetics)

Dr Marta Bertoli

marta.bertoli@nhs.net 

Mental Health

Dr David Ekers

david.ekers@nhs.net 

Reproductive Health

Dr Aethele Khunda

aethele.khunda@nhs.net 

Anaesthesia, Perioperative Medicine and Pain Management

Dr Iain McCullagh

I.mccullagh@nhs.net 

Susan Ridge

susan.ridge@nihr.ac.uk 

Critical Care

Prof. Steve Bonner

Stephen.Bonner1@nhs.net 

Ear, Nose and Throat (ENT)

Mr David Hamilton

david.hamilton3@nhs.net 

Musculoskeletal Disorders - Orthopaedics

Dr David Townsend

David.Townshend@northumbria-healthcare.nhs.uk 

Musculoskeletal Disorders - Rheumatology

Dr David Coady

d.coady@nhs.net 

Ophthalmology

Mrs Deepali Varma

deepali.varma1@nhs.net 

Surgery

Mr Bob Sleight

bob.slight@nihr.ac.uk 

Trauma and Emergency Care

Dr Mark Harrison

mark.harrison@northumbria-healthcare.nhs.uk