This site is optimised for modern browsers. For the best experience, please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

CRN Greater Manchester Specialty Leads

Contents

Specialty Leads 

Our CRN Greater Manchester Specialty Leads lead research delivery in our 31 health specialty areas. They are available to support, advise and collaborate with colleagues working in research across our region. 

Children and Young People - Professor Clare Murray clare.murray@manchester.ac.uk 
Kidney Disorders - Professor Darren Green Darren.Green@nca.nhs.uk 
Primary Care - Dr Naresh Kanumilli nkanumilli@nhs.net and Dr Stuart Stewart stuart.stewart@nhs.net 
Neurological Disorders - Dr David Rog david.rog@srft.nhs.uk  
Diabetes - Dr Shazli Azmi shazli.Azmi@mft.nhs.uk 
Cancer - Dr Kalena Marti kalena.marti@nhs.net and Dr Yvonne Summers yvonne.summers@christie.nhs.uk 
Trauma and Emergency Care - Professor Richard Body richard.body@mft.nhs.uk and Professor Dan Horner daniel.horner@mft.nhs.uk  
Surgery - Miss Gemma Faulkner Gemma.Faulkner@boltonft.nhs.uk 
Dermatology - Professor Richard Warren richard.warren@manchester.ac.uk  
Dementias and Neurodegeneration - Dr Ross Dunne ross.dunne@gmmh.nhs.uk and Professor Monty Silverdale monty.silverdale-2@manchester.ac.uk  
Gastroenterology - Professor John McLaughlin john.mclaughlin@manchester.ac.uk 
Metabolic and Endocrine Disorders - Dr Claire Higham claire.higham@christie.nhs.uk  
Ear, Nose and Throat - Ms Sadie Khwaja sadie.khwaja@mft.nhs.uk  
Stroke - Professor Craig Smith craig.smith-2@manchester.ac.uk  
Anaesthesia, Perioperative Medicine and Pain Management - Dr Anton Krige anton.krige@elht.nhs.uk  
Musculoskeletal Disorders - Dr James Bluett james.bluett@manchester.ac.uk 
Social Care - Dr Paul Clarkson Paul.Clarkson@manchester.ac.uk 
Public Health and Prevention - Professor Arpana Verma Arpana.Verma@manchester.ac.uk 
Ophthalmology - Ms Jane Ashworth jane.ashworth@mft.nhs.uk  
Genomics and Rare Diseases - Dr Catherine Breen catherine.breen@mft.nhs.uk 
Liver - Dr Varindar Athwal varinder.athwal@manchester.ac.uk 
Infection - Dr Alison Uriel alison.uriel@mft.nhs.uk 
Mental Health - Dr Paul French p.french@mmu.ac.uk 
Ageing - Dr Emma Vardy emma.vardy@srft.nhs.uk  
Health Services Research - Professor Pete Bower peter.bower@manchester.ac.uk 
Cardiovascular Disease - Dr Fozia Ahmed fozia.Ahmed@mft.nhs.uk 

Theme Leads 

Our Theme Leads are senior investigators who lead on our three vales of Relevant Research, Inclusive Involvement and Exceptional Experience

Professor Phil Kalra is our Theme Lead for Relevant Research, Professor Kathryn Abel our Theme Lead for Inclusive Involvement, and Dr Abdul Ashish our Theme Lead for Exceptional Experience. 

These leaders work across care structures and specialty areas to change lives through research. They facilitate key development programmes that improve the delivery of research across Greater Manchester, East Lancashire and East Cheshire.